Category Archives: Citation 2010

Citation 2010

TVAA Members, we are very excited to announce the CITATION 2010 award winners. The show is fantastic and the quality of work is wonderful!

Billy Hassell spent quality time visiting the exhibit in his judging process.
His juror’s statement captures his criteria in judging the awards, “When I critique or evaluate a work of art, as a teacher or as a juror, I look for originality of intent, strong composition, evidence of good craftsmanship and thoughtful presentation. I also rely on my intuition for there is always the possibility of an unconventional approach to a visual idea. Most importantly, the work of art in question
should be visually compelling.”

And the winners are:
Elwazir Family Fund Award, Dr. Esmail M. Elwazir & Family ($500)
To:  Bob Nunn,  “Opposing Forces”

Peg Rosenlund Memorial Fund Award, Peg Rosenlund & Family ($300)
To:  Penelope Bisbee, “Life Back”

Rowena Elkin Memorial Award for Sculpture, Virginia Elkin Fuller & Frank Elkin ($300)
To:  Eunice Bridges, “Heart of the Matter”

Bob Brown Memorial Fund Award ($200)
To:  Artyce Colen, “Intensity”

Mary Ratliff Memorial Fund Award ($200) In honor of Charles Ratliff
To:  Clyde Igarashi, “Longing”

Asel Art Merchandise Award  ($100)
To:  Shari Hornish, “Home before Dark”

Grumbacher  Merchandise Award ($90)
To:  Duke Horn, “American Narcissim”

Beasley Fine Art Photography Merchandise Award ($50)
To:   Junko Otsu, “African Daisy”

Décor Frame & Art Merchandise Award ($50)
To:  Cathy Rutter, “Itch”

Fast Frame Merchandise Award ($50)
To: Lori Bongiovanni, “A Day In Canton”

Dick Blick Merchandise Award ($50)
To:   Jerry E. Smith, “Cheesy Jesus#2

2010-2011 TVAA President Zane Steadman with wife, Larae

Robin Gary, Citation Show Co-chair, with her daughters

Bob Nunn, Best of Show winner with his work, Opposing Forces

The Citation Show is a juried member show that takes place in the fall at various locations. The exhibit normally runs three to four weeks. Members may submit three works for consideration. There is an awards reception. New memberships are accepted on show entry day.

The Citation 2010 exhibition is scheduled for October 4 to 31 at PFamily Arts in Plano. This year’s Citation juror is Billy Hassell. The Reception is Saturday, October 23rd from 5 to 7 pm. Awards presentation will be at 6 pm. Guests are welcome as well as members.

Juror: Billy Hassell
Reception: October 23, 5 to 7 pm
Chairperson: Robin Gary
Co-Chairperson: Gaby Pruitt

PFamily Arts
4017 Preston Road, Plano, Texas 75093

Citation 2010 prospectus: PDF front | PDF back